Member notices

Awards are presented to those who have given considerable service to the Association over the years. Three awards are given:

Life Membership

Awarded to distinguished members who have provided outstanding service to the profession.

Medal of Excellence

Awarded to members who have been of great service to the Association.

Honorary Fellowship

Awarded to non-dispensing opticians who have been of great help to the Association.

If you wish to make a nomination, please send your submission (accompanied by a CV including details of service given to the Association) to  no later than Monday 4 November 2019.

List of previous winners

We are also  seeking nominations for the 2019 Hamblin Memorial prize –  a prestigious  award made to an individual ABDO member for their exceptional service to the advancement of opticians and consequently their professional organisation.

Please send nominations for the Hamblin prize, along with a short note as to why the individual should receive the award, to  by Friday 20 November 2019.


The Hamblin Memorial Prize Award history and eligibility

List of previous winners

Prizes will be presented at the ABDO gala dinner on Sunday 5 April 2020.



1-DAY ACUVUE® MOIST® for ASTIGMATISM has been recalled please check this post from Johnson and Johnson on what pack lots are recalled

On the day of the climate day demonstrations ABDO is embarking on its own way to help. For the 2020 membership renewal process we are changing the way we communicate with our members.

All renewals will be done electronically with no paper versions sent out. We will also be discontinuing with membership cards and benefit brochures.

Our aim is to become paperless so receipts will be available online along with Professional indemnity insurance certificates and a certificate for membership for the current year.

Direct debit schedules advice will also be found on your online account for the subsequent year.

Emails will be sent out in the second week in December so we just wanted to let you all know about the new system well in advance so you register an email address or to make sure we have the correct details for you.

ABDO hopes you will embrace these changes and help us do our bit for the world.

Full details  of this years graduation ceremony can be found here.

Voting for elections has closed. The results are as follows:

  • Lorraine Bleasdale ELECTED
  • Kevin Gutsell NOT ELECTED
  • Daryl Newsome ELECTED

The three year term for those elected will commence on Friday 6 September 2019.

Dear Members,

You may be aware that yesterday evening Channel 4 aired a programme called Supershoppers, a consumer advice show that focuses on high end shopping in the UK, tackling the perception that only expensive brands can offer goods of the highest quality. Part of the content on last night’s programme was a piece on the cost of spectacles which encouraged viewers to go online to purchase these cheaper.

Please be assured that we are appalled with the content of the programme and are liaising with the GOC and College of Optometrists on a statement to be released in due course.  We are also contacting the Producers of the show to inform them of the facts around what they have publicised and the impact that can have on patient safety and awareness with regards to the importance of the dispensing side of eye health care.

Barry Duncan