College of Optometrists announces Council election results

The College of Optometrists has announced the results of its recent Council election. Prab Boparai MCOptom was elected to represent members in the West Midlands, with Dr Irene Ctori MCOptom joining as a College Council member for London. Deepali Modha MCOptom was elected unopposed to represent the Eastern region, with Lisa O’Donoghue MCOptom and Lorcan Butler MCOptom elected unopposed to represent Northern Ireland.

The following members retain their seats on College Council:

  • Johnathan Waugh MCOptom (Scotland)
  • Colin Davidson FCOptom (South East)
  • Stephanie Campbell MCOptom (South West)
  • Professor Leon Davies FCOptom (West Midlands)
  • Dr Joy Myint FCOptom (London)
  • Parth Shah MCOptom (re-elected unopposed, Eastern).

Prab Boparai MCOptom said: “I am delighted to have been given this opportunity to work with my peers and colleagues in the College. I am very grateful to those who voted for me in the West Midlands, and assure everyone that I will do my best to represent the views of everybody in the best manner possible. A particular area that I wish to focus on is in raising awareness of eye health and the profile of our profession to the nation. The profession is at times divided and we’re often in competition with one another, which can make it challenging to bring about the positive changes that benefit us all. We need to unite and work together with our optical representative bodies to make ourselves heard in both the NHS and the private health sector.”

Dr Mary-Ann Sherratt MCOptom, President of the College of Optometrists, said: “I would like to congratulate and offer a warm welcome to all the successful candidates of this year’s election. Our Council takes pride in ensuring that we all remain true to our principles and accountable to our members, so it’s very important we have ambassadors who are actively engaged in the College. I would also like to take the opportunity to thank all the outgoing Council members for the amazing work to help shape the future direction of the profession, namely Professor Kathryn Saunders, Sara McCullough, David Parkins, Francesca Marchetti, and Parminder Chohan.”

The new Council members will begin their terms after the College of Optometrists’ AGM, which is being held on 19 March 2018 as part of its annual conference, Optometry Tomorrow.