College of Optometrists’ Council election results

The College of Optometrists has today announced the names of its newest Council members. Laura Sweeney has been elected as a College Council member for Scotland, Ceri Probert will represent members in Wales, Russell Dawkins will join as a Council member for the London region, Ian White will represent the North West and Lucy Hall and Angharad Hobby will both become College Council members for the South East.

The election process also saw three existing Council members re-elected:

  • Geraint Griffiths for the East Midlands.
  • Shamina Asif and Francesca Marchetti for the West Midlands.

Two Council members have retained their seats in uncontested elections; Barbara Watson for Yorkshire and Humber and Tony Gibson for the North East.

New Council member, Ceri Probert, said; “I’m delighted to have the opportunity to represent my region on the College’s Council. I’m looking forward to playing a role in shaping the future direction of the College and the profession. I think that optometrists have for too long been undervalued as healthcare practitioners. In the ever changing world of healthcare, I feel that we have a considerable and growing role to play in improving the health and wellbeing of our patients. I am passionate about promoting optometry as a profession and feel that, by being a member of Council, I can contribute a small piece to this jigsaw.”

Dr Mary-Ann Sherratt MCOptom, President of the College of Optometrists, said: “I would like to congratulate all the successful candidates and I look forward to welcoming them on to College Council. Our Council takes responsibility to determine the strategic and professional direction of the College so it’s very important that we have engaged ambassadors that will bring the views of our members from the regions directly to us. I would also like to thank and recognise all the outgoing Council members for their enormous contribution and work over the years, namely Ian Jarvis, Lisa Gerson, Krupa Patel, Neil Retallic, Kamlesh Chauhan, Sanjay Patel and Adam Wannell.”

Membership of the College’s Council gives members and fellows the opportunity to represent colleagues, promote their profession and help shape the future of optometry. The new Council members will begin their terms after the College of Optometrists AGM which is held on 20 March 2017.