College of Optometrists Fellowships recognise outstanding contributions to the profession

The College of Optometrists has elected two new Life Fellows, two new Honorary Fellows and a Fellow by Portfolio. Fellowship of the College is awarded to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the profession or to the College.

The two new College Life Fellows are:

Professor Martin Rubinstein FCOptom, Honorary Consultant Lecturer, University of Nottingham
Professor Martin Rubinstein has been elected to Life Fellowship in recognition of his extensive contribution to the education and training of optometrists and ophthalmologists, his role in the development of hospital optometry, and his significant contributions to research. He is being recognized particularly for his clinical and research work in medical contact lens practice, corneal and ocular surface disease and the assessment and management of visual impairment.

Professor David Thomson FCOptom, Professor of Optometry, City University
Professor David Thomson has been elected to Life Fellowship in recognition of his extensive contribution to the education and training of optometrists, specifically to many generations of City University students, and to research and technology development which has benefited the optometric profession as a whole.

The two new Honorary Fellows of the College are:

Professor John Sparrow HonFCOptom, Consultant Ophthalmologist, Bristol Eye Hospital
Professor John Sparrow has been elected to Honorary Fellowship in recognition of his high profile support for optometry within his role at Bristol Eye Hospital, in his work for the Royal College of Ophthalmologists and the National Institute for Clinical Excellence (NICE) and, in particular, the significant contributions he has made nationally and internationally on glaucoma and cataract care.

Andrew Yorke HonFCOptom, Country Manager and Director at Topcon GB
Andrew Yorke has been elected to Honorary Fellowship of the College of Optometrists in recognition of the significant contribution he has made to the development and use of new technology, specifically by facilitating the commercial viability of ground-breaking equipment and in the delivery of education to encourage its use.

A Fellow by Portfolio award has been awarded to Mr Gavin Galloway FCOptom, PLM Optometrists. He has been awarded in the following areas; Clinical Practice, Provision of visual or wider healthcare, Management of visual healthcare and Higher qualifications in vision science. Applicants can find out more about how to become a College Fellow by Portfolio on the College website.

Dr Mary-Ann Sherratt MCOptom, President of the College of Optometrists, said: “Fellowship is the College’s highest qualification and it is an acknowledgement of commitment to the profession, experience and accomplishments. It was an absolute privilege to present these awards and acknowledge the hard work, commitment and exceptional contribution these individuals have made to advance optometry and eye care.”

The awards were presented at the annual Diploma Ceremony on Tuesday 8 November 2016 in Central London, where the College also celebrated the achievements of its members through the award of Higher Diplomas and Research Excellence Awards, and welcoming newly qualified optometrists to the profession.