New College of Optometrists council members

The College of Optometrists has welcomed six new members to its council at the College’s AGM, held during the Optometry Tomorrow conference in Birmingham (19-20 March).

Laura Sweeney (MCOptom) has been elected as a college council member for Scotland, Ceri Probert (MCOptom) will represent members in Wales, Russell Dawkins (MCOptom) will join as a council member for the London region, Ian White (MCOptom) will represent the North West and Lucy Hall (MCOptom) and Angharad Hobby (MCOptom) will both become College council members for the South East.

Speaking about her election to Council, Angharad Hobby MCOptom said; “I’m delighted to take a place on the College council. As a relatively newly qualified optometrist I feel I can provide the council with a voice and views from the younger generation of clinicians. My working life encompasses practice in the community and hospital eye service, research and education and I think this give me a holistic view of the profession. I relish the challenge of this new role and will do my utmost to ensure that College members in the South East are represented proficiently.”

A further three existing council members have been re-elected to the council:

  • Geraint Griffiths (MCOptom) for the East Midlands.
  • Shamina Asif (MCOptom) and Francesca Marchetti (MCOptom) for the West Midlands.

Two council members have retained their seats in uncontested elections; Barbara Watson (FCOptom) for Yorkshire and Humber and Tony Gibson (MCOptom) for the North East.

Ian Humphries, chief executive of the College of Optometrists said; “I would like to welcome all of the new members of council and look forward to working with them. Council members are ambassadors for the profession; they bring members’ views directly to the College, which is hugely valuable to us, and provide leadership for the profession and represent the views of their colleagues in their region. I would also like to thank and recognise all the outgoing council and board members for their enormous contribution and service over the years.”